ECP 35 km

 
The mileage is building up slowly and the intensity also increasing. Last weekend it finally built up to 35 km. We were to start off at 7 am, ECP B1 carpark. I couldn’t reach there by 7 am, so Dear & i would have to take a ride from my in-law’s car. We reached ECP at 5.15 am and some of the early runners were already there. Dear intend to do the opposite direction first before joining us to Shenton Way. I played catch-up behind her and u-turned back after 3 km.
 
At 6.55 am, most of the MF runners had arrived even the water support was there. I was feeling a bit tired, lack of sleep. Ricci gave a quick briefing on the route before we started off at 7.10 am. Ricci led in front, TH & I followed closely behind. The rest was trying hard to catch up. Joshua was here today, making the training more interesting. He paced himself against Small Chua. We followed the SCSM08 new route, hoping to get used to the surrounding. Ricci was right in front, 50 m ahead of me and i was leading TH by few meters. The front portion was among 3 of us like last week. I was holding on to 1 pack of rebina, getting myself ready for the hot sun. The pace was good, i was happy to sit behind Ricci to relax a bit. TH also never make any moves unlike last week, he made his moves after 6 km.
 
We passed by Crawford St. under the Nicol Highway, starting to stick near to each other. I was planning to take lead after 10 km depends on conditions. Passed by the F1 pit-stop and it was 10 km at Singapore Flyer. My watch was reading 41 min 26 sec, 4.08 min/km pace – a great pace. I wanted to open up to raise the tempo. Suddenly, i felt a pull behind my thigh. My knee got lossen and a nible pain was there whenever i bent my knee. I have to slow down to a stop, very disappointing. I watched Ricci move off in front and i stretched myself beside a lamp post. TH passed by and asked me ‘what happened’.. I have pulled my hamstring, second time in the week. I tried to run but basically cannot retain the correct posture anymore. I was limping and was feeling ‘lost’. One by one passed by me and i have no choice but to walk back to the start pt. I had started well, a great pace … it was SCSM07 all over again.
 
The hamstring injury is going to take me a few days off. Cross finger for a quick recovery. TH finished under 3 hr -2 hr 55 min and Ricci finished just above 3 hr – 3 hr 1 min. Small Chua and Joshua was 5 min after Ricci. Most of them managed to complete this tough and hot 35 km.
 
19th October 2008. Distance: 35 km (Completed only 10 km)
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment