Telok Blangah Hill

 
I was missing in action from my running blog, it shows i was slacking from training. Never actually hit training mileage for this marathon. The longest distance i have covered prior to the training is 32 km. A lot of rest in the last few weeks due to injury and weather condition. After missing from Jimmy’s tuesday session, i joined back into his interval training in TBH.
 
As usual, we started off at 6.50 pm and a short warm-up run to the hill top. Gathered at the second carpark awaiting for further instructions. This will be the last hill interval in TBH. We were to do 8 sets of 1.2 km, never hit 8 sets since 2 years ago.  I was determined to complete it. I was able to complete more interval training sets nowsdays but i was missing out on mileage training. Teck Hou was with us for the training, adding more spice to the front runners.
 
I led out the first set and as usual, Melvin & TH followed closely behind. The first set clocked 4 min 14 sec, i was shocked with the timing. It was considered slow compared to 3 weeks ago when we did the same training. I was already running quite hard for it. The second set went back to normal, 4 min 07 sec. The third was 4 min 09 sec. TH led the 4th set, adding more speed to the run. My time was 3 min 56 sec, under 4 min (the only under 4 set). I maintained well on 5th with 4 min 08 sec and took a gear off on the 6th (4 min 35sec). Anyway, i got back my authority to claim 4 min 02 sec for the last 2 sets.
 
I was a bit disappointed with the timing. It was a slowdown compared to the previous training.  What’s went wrong at this corner of the time when the marathon is coming?? I was able to sustain the hardship but slowdown.
 
13th Nov 2008.
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment